Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
In the Garden: gardeners vs. grubs
They're small in size, but they can cause a lot of damage to plants and trees. Experts say Japanese beetles are really bad this year. The bugs are not hard to spot with their copper wings and metallic, green bodies.

"They eat the leaves, that's the big noticeable thing," says Dundee Nursery expert John Henning.

Henning says we're seeing more beetles this year because we had a relatively mild winter. He says the population gets bigger if we don't have cold weather.

"It's just that they keep laying eggs. One beetle lays X amount of eggs, get more grubs, they turn into beetles next year, they eat and the population just keeps growing," explained Henning.

The bugs like to munch on 300 different varieties of species, including roses and Linden trees. The pests caused trees along Highway 55 to turn brown. 

"In general, this is not going to kill your tree, it's just going to make it look bad for the rest of the year," says Henning.

The gardening expert says it's too late to use products to kill the beetles themselves, but you can go after grubs, preventing beetles next spring.

"Most of them are starting to go back in the ground, lay their eggs, which are soon going to turn into the grubs, which will start to feed on the roots of your grass," says Henning.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

8/10/2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.