Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Standout Student delves into field of cancer research
Every since Lana Trautman was a little girl, she has wanted to be a doctor. It's no surprise that science is her favorite subject. CCX News caught up with the Breck junior at her biotechnology class. The ambitious student is also in Breck's Advanced Science Research program, where she's focused on targeted chemotherapy.

"We're using a stem cell to actually deliver drugs to the tumor. A lot of times with current chemotherapy, a lot of healthy cells are killed as well by the drug," explained Trautman.

Trautman is sharing her research with other scientists and students. Her teacher says her persistence, and will to help others is unprecedented.

"It's unusual for a student to have the strength and the background that Lana has to be able to do this work as a junior. But it also speaks to her commitment," said Breck instructor Princesa Hanson.

When Trautman is not in the lab, she's can be found on a farm. She has a passion for riding horses, having competed in a world equestrian competition. The remarkable rider and researcher is determined to make a difference.

"Cancer treatment is going to help a lot of people around the world  and I think that's really important and really cool," said Trautman.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

12/13/2017



 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.