Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Breck senior strives at cello, sets school record in track
If you want to know what makes Breck senior Kajsa Johansson tick, all you have to do is listen. She's an accomplished cellist, playing since age 5.

"I'm a big fan of the slow, kind of thoughtful pieces,"  said Johansson. "Playing the cello is kind of an escape from all the busy academic and sports and all that kind of stuff."

Music is the foundation for everything she does. It brings harmony to other areas of her life.

"Everything about the musical life, is a lot about discipline, and time management, expectations, and kind of taking it upon yourself to want to improve and want to get better," explained Johansson.

This Standout Student likes English and history. And when she's not playing music and excelling in class, you'll see her blazing on the track. Johansson holds a school record in the 100 meter-dash: 12.1 seconds.

"Kajsa is the poster child for balance," said Breck track coach Jon Martin.  "Her work ethic for sure. Her unwillingness to be defeated. She's one of the most competitive kids I've ever coached."

Johansson will attend Hillsdale College in Michigan on a track scholarship. She's also hoping to get a scholarship for music.She hasn't decided on a major, but she's thinking about politics or history.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org
 
4/27/2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.