Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Standout Student excels in classroom, track
When track coach Derek Fisher saw freshman Alexandrea Hurst four years ago, she was turning backflips in the gym.

"I knew she was something special," says Fisher. "For sure, I’ve gotta get her out to track."

That turned out to be a very good decision. Hurt has excelled in track and now holds school records in shot put and discus at Armstrong, plus she finished first in the state in shot put and second in discus during her junior year.

"She’s driven and you can tell that from the different things she’s involved in," says Fisher.

Alexandrea Hurst, who goes by the nickname Lexi, is very involved. She excels in academics. She's captain of the step team and manager of the basketball team. She sings in the choir and plays both violin and cello. She calls herself a "music geek," but acknowledges that track is her "big thing."

"I’m very competitive with other people and myself as well," says Hurst.

Hurst will be attending the University of Minnesota on a track scholarship. She hopes to become a veterinarian and work with small animals like cats, dogs and rabbits.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

4/20/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.