Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Money Savers: 529 College Savings Plan
Once students are back in school with a fresh outlook on the year ahead, it’s time to take another look at saving for college.

“Higher education expenses have been on the rise for some time. Higher education debt is almost double what the nation’s credit card debt is,” says Jim Mandler with the Minnesota College Savings Plan. “Any kind of savings is good savings.”

Signing up for the Minnesota College Savings Plan takes less than 20 minutes and can be done on the website mnsaves.org You can open a 529 account for your child or grandchild for only $25 and you can also choose how you want your money invested, with eleven different investment options.

The Minnesota College Savings Plan can be used at any accredited school, whether in Minnesota or not. It can also be used for technical school or even saved up for graduate school. At the school itself, money can be used to pay for not only tuition, but also room and board or books and supplies.

“The earlier you start saving, the earlier you can grow that nest egg,” says Mandler.

Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

September 6, 2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.