Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Money Savers: State Fair on a family budget
Make no bones about it, fun at the fair can often hit your wallet hard.

"The fair is expensive, but it is a lot of fun," says Gianna Kordatzky, one of the authors behind the Family Fun Twin Cities website. "You really do need a game plan."

Want to have a good fair experience without breaking the bank? A few ideas:

-Stick to the northern end of the fairgrounds: Home to the Baldwin Park Family Fair, kids and their parents can play in Alphabet Forest, the Giant Sandbox, or the Math on a Stick area. They can learn from exhibits in the Eco Experience, climb on National Guard equipment, see a Northwoods Dog show, or go on the Boy Scouts ropes course. All of these activities are free.

-Go on a scavenger hunt: Many of the exhibit buildings, like the Fine Arts building, offer a game or scavenger hunt to engage children.

-Go early: Not only can you beat the crowds, but often there are early bird discounts on the Mighty Kidway.

-Make a list and stick to it: Like with any financial decision, make a list of what is most important and then let your priorities guide you.

"I have a list full of things I want to try this year," says Kordatzky. "When I look around and see something has a fee to it, I’m like there are other free things I don’t need to do that."


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

8/30/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.