Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Senior scams costly for caregivers too
A new study shows a scam can have serious financial consequences not only on a senior, but on their caregiver as well.

"A lot of times the caregiver has to contribute more money to make that person whole, so the average amount was $36,000," says Katie Libbe, vice president of consumer insights at Golden Valley-based Allianz Life, which sponsored the study.

Two-thirds of caregivers said the cost of providing care is having a significant effect on their finances and they worry about having enough money to retire.

While having a discussion about financial abuse, scams and caregiving can be challenging, it is important. Caregivers should have frequent, open conversations to know when something is amiss.

"If you are having daily conversations, you are going to uncover information about the strange person who came to their door or who found an error in their bank account," says Libbe. "You are going to have your radar up so you can eliminate the situation before it gets worse."

Another option to consider is involving a third party in financial management, whether a family member or financial professional, as a step toward building a system of checks and balances.

Allianz Life has also put together a Caregivers Readiness Guide, which is a checklist for financial, medical, and general information for caregivers.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

4/5/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.